Our St. Patrick Pastoral Council

Representatives on the Pastoral Council advise the pastor on important matters and facilitate communication between the pastor and parishioners. The Pastoral Council also collaborates with the pastor to support the spiritual, social, and service goals of the parish. In this council, which is presided over by the pastor, “the Christian faithful, together with those who share in pastoral care by virtue of their office in the parish, assist in fostering pastoral activity” (Code of Canon Law 536.1). The pastoral council is strictly consultative in nature, and is regulated by the norms laid down by the diocesan bishop (Code of Canon Law 536.2).

The council is comprised of twelve members. Nominations for open seats on the Pastoral Council are accepted beginning in October of each year. Members serve three year terms. The council typically meets on one Tuesday of the month, except August and February.

Council members serve on one of the following committees:

  • The Communication Committee helps maintain and improve the ways we communicate with parishioners and beyond the parish through our website, bulletin, mailings, Facebook page, and other means of communication.
  • The Hospitality and Evangelization Committee works on ways to welcome new parishioners and orient them to our parish, and on ways to invite others to discover St. Patrick Parish and our Catholic faith.
  • The Ministry Connection Committee works on helping existing parishioners find ways to connect with parish ministries and organizations, such as through our website and our First Sunday Socials.
  • The Administration Committee serves as a liaison to our Parish Finance Council and also our Diocesan Pastoral Council, helps identify potential new candidates for Pastoral Council, and coordinates projects relating to the physical plant and grounds of the parish, such as coordinating our Advent and Lent church cleanings.

Our present Pastoral Council representatives are:

Communication committee

Deb Newman
Don Williams (Vice-Chair)
Daniel Heitzenrater

Hospitality and Evangelization committee

Jim Haninger
Chris Chenault
Marian Hyden

Ministry Connection committee

Martiana Klui
Kelly Birnbrich
Mark McGrath

Administration committee

Beth Atkinson (Council Chair)
Joe Testa
Mike Melliere, Sr.


Contact the Pastoral Council

To contact the council or request a copy of the minutes, use the form below.